Monday, October 6, 2014

The Maltese Cross

The Maltese 8-pointed Cross is a popular image seen in Malta on flags, items for sale and especially in subjects related to the rule of the Knights from 1530 to 1798. The 8 points of the cross represent the obligations or aspirations which the Knights had to follow in their lives, which are also based on the 8 Beatitudes mentioned in the Gospel of Saint Matthew, the opening lines of chapter 5:   
1. To live in truth                  
2. To have a strong faith
3. To repent from your sins   
4. To love justice
5. To show yourself humble   
6. To be merciful
7. To endure persecution      
8. To be sincere and whole-hearted.

No comments:

Post a Comment